Mission Statement

Tybee Island Historical Society

The mission of the Tybee Island Historical Society (TIHS) is to preserve, store, and exhibit artifacts, documents, photographs, and other documentary materials relevant to the cultural and natural heritage of Tybee Island and to preserve, develop, and promote the historic resources of the island.


Historical Society Staff

Sarah Jones

Executive Director

Nicole Thompson

Director of Operations

Candy Hagemes-Carter

Gift Store Buyer/Merchandiser

Gus Rehnstrom

Volunteer Coordinator

Desiree Wood

Director of Education

Art Worden

Assistant Volunteer Coordinator

Kimmy Wix

Assistant Manager

Gift Shop

Joe Porterfield


Grounds Supervisor

Michael Poole


Preservation Specialist & Buildings Supervisor

Pat Austin


Gift Shop

Celeste Bernstein


Gift Shop

Nancy Humphrey


Gift Shop

Jeff Morton


Gift Shop


Board of Directors

Joe Amlung, President
Allen Lewis, Vice President
Beth Hodges, Secretary
Bill Blakey, Treasurer

Neca Stoller

Mimi Ferrelle

Janis Hayden​

Walker Beeson

Hope Barton

Bill Garbett

Ron Bossick

Jim Peper

Paul Jackson

Raynette Evans


Support Us Now

Donate to Our Museum Today


(912) 786-5801

30 Meddin Dr, Tybee Island, GA 31328, USA

©2018 by Tybee Island Light Station And Museum. Proudly created with Wix.com